Think 20 (T20)


Introduction and Brief History

Think tanks and academia from G20 countries make an important contribution to the G20 dialogue via the Think 20 (T20).

T20 was initiated during the Mexican Presidency in 2012 and has continued under the successive G20 presidencies. Its first meeting was held with the participation of think tanks from 15 countries including Australia, Brazil, China, India, Japan, Singapore, Turkey and South Korea.

Under Turkey’s G20 Presidency, Economic Policy Research Foundation of Turkey (TEPAV) has been appointed to coordinate the activities of the Think 20.

Executive Committee

Mr Güven Sak, Member of Board of Directors of TEPAV is charing the T20 Turkish Presidency.

Priorities and Activities

T20 has a different character than other engagement groups. It is not an advocacy platform that campaigns around specific issues, nor does it seek to negotiate an agreed set of recommendations on the issues to be progressed. Instead, the Think 20 serves as an “ideas bank” for G20. For this purpose, T20 organizes the analysis of global think tanks and high level experts in order to provide analytical depth to ongoing G20 discussions and produce ideas to help the G20 on delivering concrete and sustainable policy measures. T20 conclusions are presented to G20 working groups, minister committees and leaders summit as policy options not recommendations.

T20 Turkey is emphasizing on developing policy measures to support the G20 growth agenda set by the “Brisbane Action Plan.” At Brisbane, the G20 leaders agreed on 800 measures that are estimated to increase their economic output by 2.1% by 2018.

T20 Turkey will also ensure T20 debates held in Australia will continue in 2015 on the key themes of: Global Governance, Trade and Investment, Infrastructure, Financial Stability and Reform, Employment, Sustainable Development, Energy Governance. Moreover, Innovation and Technology and Internet Governance themes are introduced as a future G20 agenda items.

In addition, following T20 Australia’s lead, T20 Turkey has continued to support the G20 agenda by producing targeted policy papers and commissioned reports. TEPAV works in collaboration with international institutions in the aforementioned G20 themes, including;

  • Financial Stability and Reform: The South Center, Brookings Institution, Centre for International Governance Innovation (CIGI) and Centre for Economics and Finance for the Development of Argentina (CEFID-AR).
  • Employment: Centre for International Governance Innovation (CIGI), Lowy Institute, Centre for Economic Policy Research (CEPR) and Oxford University.
  • Global Governance: Lowy Institute, Shanghai Institute for International Studies (SIIS), and Chongyang Institute for Financial Studies (RDCY).
  • Infrastructure: Observer Research Foundation (ORF), Peking University, China Institute for Reform and Development (CIRD), Brookings Institution and Lowy Institute.
  • Internet Governance: Centre for International Governance Innovation (CIGI), The South Center and Chinese Academy of Social Sciences (CASS)
  • Trade and Investment: Research and Information System for Developing Countries (RIS), Swiss Institute for International Economics and Applied Economic Research (Simon J. Evenett), Center for Economic Policy Research (CEPR) (Richard Baldwin)
  • Innovation and Technology: Economic Policy Forum (EPF), China Institute for Reform and Development, Novusens and The United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (ESCAP).
  • Energy Governance: Centre for International Governance Innovation (CIGI), Lowy Institute,

Shanghai Institute for International Studies (SIIS), Korea Development Institute and Lowy Institute.

  • Sustainable Development: Coalition for Dialogue on Africa (CoDa), Centre for International Governance Innovation (CIGI), Brookings Institution and Chatham House.

Furthermore, collaborations and studies are being fleshed out with the National Advisory Council regarding: content support, raising public awareness about the G20, creating a knowledge base and shaping the future agenda. Members of the National Advisory Council comprise of the following institutions:

  • Ankara Policy Center (APM)
  • Bahcesehir University Center for Economic and Social Research (betam)
  • Wise Man Center for Strategic Studies (BİLGESAM)
  • Science And Technology Policy Studies METU- Tekpol
  • Bogazici University-Inopvita
  • Dokuz Eylul University, Centre for Economics and Foreign Policy Studies (edam),
  • Foundation for Political, Economic and Social Research (SETA)
  • Global Relations Forum (GIF), Caspian Strategy Institute (HASEN)
  • Istanbul Commerce University
  • İstanbul Kültür Univerity- Global Political Trends Center (GPOT)
  • Koc University
  • NOVUSENS Innovation & Entrepreneurship Institute
  • Sabancı University, Center for Middle Eastern Strategic Studies (ORSAM)
  • Center for Strategic Research (SAM)
  • Center for Strategic Communication (STRATIM)
  • Turkish Asian Center for Strategic Studies (TASAM)
  • Technology Development Foundation of Turkey (TTGV)
  • Turkish Society for Quality (KALDER)
  • The Turkish Economic and Social Studies Foundation (TESEV)
  • International Strategic Research Organization (USAK).

Upcoming Events

T20 Summit will be held in Antalya on 13-15 November 2015